Morehead's Tierra McGowan, averaging 15.4 points and 14.0 rebounds a game, leads the nation in total rebounds. She has had double-digit rebound totals in her first nine games. Details, see links, lower right.

Heard through
the grapevine

     Anagram time.
     Scramble the letters in Monkey Alarm and you'll get my name: Mark Maloney!
     A Monkey who spent 42 years as a sportswriter before retiring in 2015. I covered everything from T-ball to (12) Olympics, basketball and football to bobsled and judo. World Series, Super Bowl, NCAA, NAIA and high school games.
     Early in my career, I wrote for the Painesville (Ohio) Telegraph and Anderson (S.C.) Independent. Then, I spent 38 years with the Lexington (Ky.) Herald-Leader.

     Now, I freelance, primarily for, athletics website of Morehead State University, and Big Red Review, an independent publication focused on Western Kentucky University athletics.

     Over the years, I also have written about musicians (Temptations, Coasters, Oak Ridge Boys), the Prince of Jordan and James Earl Jones. My favorite is a story about being a kidney donor (see the Monkey Biz page).
      Happy reading!  


Learn with a red cross-certified teacher

In addition to reporting on a dozen Olympic Games, the Monkey was fortunate enough to be a part of the 2002 Olympic Torch Relay, carrying the flame on a rainy day in Frankfort, Ky.

Beast on the boards

Early Contributor


Sports & more

Crystal Simmons played three seasons for St. John's University. Now, she's sitting out at Morehead State due to transfer rules, but she's already helping the Eagles improve. Details, see links, lower right.

Proud to support Organ and Tissue donation, left, and Right to Life, above!